~CONTENTS

~Archives
~Newest
~Profile
~Cast
~Rings
~Email
~Guestbook
~Host

~LAST FEW:

So Long, Farewell - 11:25 a.m. , September 22, 2005

Louie - 11:43 p.m. , September 17, 2005

Asthma - 11:24 p.m. , August 23, 2005

Grateful - 12:10 a.m. , August 21, 2005

Books and Stuff - 10:44 p.m. , July 10, 2005

Template by
Melissa


June 16, 2005 - 10:40 p.m.
Movies, Book, and Life


Perhaps I am completely heartless, but I think Terri Schaivo's parents are the biggest idiots in the universe. I realize that she was their daughter and the whole situation was difficult and painful. On the other hand, they had fifteen years to make their peace with it all. There is not scientific evidence, via autopsy, that proves she was never going to get better. However, they still maintain that therapy would have helped her. Dudes, her brain had lost half of its mass. Just accept that she's probably better off in the afterlife. Should anything ever happen to me that leaves me in an irreversible vegetative state, I DO NOT want to be kept on life support for decades because of the false hopes of others.
As far as my thoughts on the whole Michael Jackson thing, I think the right thing occurred. I did not follow the case very closely, but I don't believe that he ever had any malicious intentions. That is not to say that I think he never made contact with young boys. I just think that his psychological development is stunted at a ridiculously young age, and he honestly is not aware of what he is doing, or what is right and wrong. What he needs is not a stint in the local jail, but an extended stay in a psychiatric institution where he undergoes therapy galore. His life in general, but his childhood especially, has been monumentally fucked up, and the man needs help in finally growing up. And on a somewhat related note, if I grew up as a Jehovah's Witness, I'd probably need therapy too. An environment that has that huge a stick up its ass can't be healthy. I am currently listening to a book ("True Story" by Michael Finkel) in which a Jehovah's Witness goes off the deep end. Sadly, it's all true too. I have yet to finish the book, but I highly recommend it.
Speaking of books, I am currently reading "The Second Summer of the Sisterhood," sequel to the "Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants." I am more than halfway through it, and have much difficulty putting it down. It's very engaging and well-written. I was insprired to read it after seeing the movie last weekend (I'd read the first book a while ago and liked it). Damned thing made me cry on separate occassions. Parts of it felt like the cast had not yet really gotten into their roles, but as the movie progressed it became fantastic. I have to admit, some of my weeping is probably due to my own issues, but I am generally not easily moved to tears by movies. Sometimes there's some mistiness, I'll admit, not not full on crying.
In other movie news, I saw "Mr. and Mrs. Smith" last Wednesday. Yes, Wednesday. And yes, it came out Friday. How, you ask? I got tickets to an advance screening from work. I felt very special. But that's not the point. I liked the movie a lot! It's been a while since I'd seen a good action flick, and this one had a delightful blend of shooting and comedy. There was a part that I felt glorified domestic violence just a tad too much, but for the most part, it was all in good humor. AND, this movie made my boyfriend realize something I've known for years. That Angelina Jolie is, in fact, hot.
In other news, the recital at the studio is next Saturday. Stress levels of everyone involved have been steadily rising, including my own. Today, I was finally able to put together and distribute costumes for my jazz class. The whole process had been a gigantic pain in the ass to begin with, and it turns out that the skorts I found are HUGE. I just told the moms we'll have to make do and safety pin them. There's not much else that can be done at this point.
Part of my can't wait to have this recital over with and move on to a new season. However, the passing of the recital will also mark the time when Isaac and Joey move to New York. These two fabulous guys have quickly become my very close friends (Isaac, especially), and I once again feel like I will have to go back to square one in the friend department. That's not to say that I don't have other friends. However, few are close, both in the figurative and literal sense. Of friends that I can really talk to, KT is the closest, and she lives in Emeryville.
Speaking of Isaac and Joey, by the way, tonight was the launch of their website for their new jewelery company. Joey makes beautiful stuff, which I promised to help pimp out (including doing some photos for the site). So here is a link to Dayley Designs.
I think that is all I have to report for right now, other than the fact that I really need a work station. Typing without a desk is a pain in the ass.


then - now


All content copyright © Malvina O. 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.